

225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 770 Alexandria, VA 22314 571-319-4703 Fax: 703-684-3607 www.innsofcourt.org

### **REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS**

#### FOR THE

## TWENTY-FOURTH ANNUAL AMERICAN INNS OF COURT PROFESSIONALISM

### **AWARD**

### IN THE SECOND CIRCUIT

The United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and the American Inns of Court announce the solicitation of nominations for the **Twenty-Fourth Annual American Inns of Court Professionalism Award in the Second Circuit**. Chief Judge Debra Ann Livingston of the Second Circuit hopes to be able to present the Award in **New York at the Thurgood Marshall Courthouse**, **Courtroom 1703**, **40 Foley Square**, in fall 2025.

The person chosen for this honor is a quintessential mentor who embodies the fundamental values of the profession to which the American Inns of Court is dedicated. The honoree is a senior lawyer who for a generation or more has guided younger practitioners in government, private practice, or public service, by word and by example. He or she is a "lawyer's lawyer"— a master of the craft—whose life and work reflect civility, competence, and ethical behavior. In short, we seek nominations of first-rate attorneys who have taught, supervised, and nurtured developing lawyers; and who, in doing so, have assured that the finest traditions of the Bar will be sustained.

Nominees should (1) have engaged in the practice of law for at least twenty years, (2) be serving now as a lawyer in Connecticut, New York, or Vermont, and (3) occupy a senior position in the office of a prosecutor, defender, government agency, private law firm, or other private entity. Judges and full-time professors are not eligible.

Nominations should be in letter form and include sufficient information about the nominee to allow the committee to make a reasoned judgment. Additional letters of recommendation should be included in the package, such as by younger lawyers describing their associations with the nominee and the benefits conferred by the nominee's teaching, mentorship, and example.

Nominations must be received at the American Inns of Court Foundation offices, 225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 770, Alexandria, Virginia 22314, no later than **April 10, 2025**; copies of the nominations must also be e-mailed as a single PDF to Michael D. Jordan, Circuit Executive, at <u>AIC Award@ca2.uscourts.gov</u>. Nominations should be addressed to the attention of Hon. Carl E. Stewart, Chair of the American Inns of Court Awards Committee.



For more information, go to <a href="https://www.innsofcourt.org/ProfessionalismAwards">www.innsofcourt.org/ProfessionalismAwards</a> or contact Cindy Dennis at (571) 319-4703.

The honoree will be selected by a combined committee of the Second Circuit and the American Inns of Court.

Second Circuit Committee members will be:

Hon. Eunice C. Lee, U.S. Court of Appeals, Chair

Hon. Sarah A. L. Merriam, U.S. Court of Appeals

Hon. Naomi Reice Buchwald, U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York

Hon. Ramón E. Reyes, Jr., U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of New York

American Inns of Court members will be:

Hon. Carl E. Stewart, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Chair

Kim J. Askew, Esquire, DLA Piper LLP

Hon. J. Michelle Childs, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

Hon. Denny Chin, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

Hon. Kent A. Jordan, Retired Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

Hon. William C. Koch, Jr., Former Justice, Tennessee Supreme Court and Dean, Nashville School of Law

Hon. Cheryl A. Krause, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

Thomas C. Leighton, Thomson Reuters Legal

Hon. Barbara M.G. Lynn, U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas

Hon. Collins J. Seitz, Jr., Chief Justice, Delaware Supreme Court

### **Second Circuit Recipients**

2024	Ala	ın \	/ine	egrad	, Es	quire		
	_						 	

Covington & Burling LLP—New York, New York

# 2023 Terrence M. Connors, Esquire

Connors LLP—Buffalo, New York

## 2022 Michael Kennedy, Esquire

Vermont Bar Counsel—Williston, Vermont

### 2021 Susan G. Kellman, Esquire

Law Offices of Susan G. Kellman and Associates—Brooklyn, New York

#### 2020 Steven M. Edwards, Esquire

Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP—New York, New York

### James I. Glasser, Esquire

Wiggin and Dana LLP-New Haven, Connecticut

### 2019 Zachary W. Carter, Esquire

Chief Legal Officer of the City of New York—New York, New York

### 2018 Susan E. Farley, Esquire

Heslin, Rothenberg, Farley & Mesiti, P.C.—Albany, New York



2017	Peter Enrique Quijano, Esquire Quijano & Ennis, P.C.—New York, New York
2016	Peter G. Eikenberry, Esquire Law Office of Peter G. Eikenberry—New York, New York
2015	Bettina B. Plevan, Esquire Proskauer Rose, LLP—New York, New York
	Lee S. Richards III, Esquire Richards Kibbe & Orbe, LLP—New York, New York
2014	Patricia M. Hynes, Esquire  Allen & Overy, LLP—New York, New York
2013	Doreen A. Simmons, Esquire Hancock Estabrook, LLP—Syracuse, New York
	Roger L. Zissu, Esquire Fross Zelnick Lehrman & Zissu, P.C.—New York, New York
2012	Hon. Barbara D. Underwood New York Solicitor General—New York, New York
2011	Marilyn C. Kunstler, Esquire Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP—New York, New York
	Sharon M. Porcellio, Esquire Ward Greenberg Heller & Reidy LLP—Rochester, New York
	Guy Miller Struve, Esquire Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP—New York, New York
2010	Alan G. Krams, Esquire The City of New York Law Department—New York, New York
2009	John Sand Siffert, Esquire Lankler Siffert & Wohl LLP—New York, New York
2008	Anthony L. Ricco, Esquire New York, New York
2007	John C. Yavis, Jr., Esquire Murtha Cullina LLP—Hartford, Connecticut
2006	John B. Webber, Esquire Webber, Chapman & Kupferer, Ltd.—Rutland, Vermont
2005	Henry Putzel III, Esquire Law Office of Henry Putzel III—New York, New York
2004	Thomas J. Concannon, Esquire The Legal Aid Society for the Eastern District of New York—Brooklyn, New York
2003	Gerald Walpin, Esquire Rosenman & Colin LLP—New York, New York

Marcia B. Paul, Esquire

Kay & Boose LLP—New York, New York

2002